Contact Us Kings Lynn Originally named Bishop's Lynn, the town has a rich and fascinating history stretching back over 1,000 years. By the 14th century, the town ranked as the third port of England. In 1538 the town became royal property under Henry VIII, and the later names of Lynn Regis and King's Lynn reflect this change.     The Pinchbeck Engine served an area around Pinchbeck and Spalding which has been embanked and drained since Anglo-Saxons settled in the area. A series of sea-banks can be dated back to this time. The settlement of Pinchbeck was well established by the time of the Norman conquest and appears in the Doomsday book of 1086.   

View Larger Map